How to get the best results from your lip stain

For staying power, lip stains are the way to go. Most Lip stains look and are used just like a felt pen so they are easy to use. Simply run the tip of the pen across your lips, and hey presto, you have a smudge of colour which should last you for most of the day.

How to get the best results from your lip stain

1-Exfoliate your lips You can do this by mixing Vaseline with a little sugar or sea salt and then rubbing it on your lips. Alternatively apply a small amount of Vaseline to your lips and rub with a toothbrush. I suggest that you picking up a cheap toothbrush which you can use just for this purpose.

2-Moisturise Apply lip balm to your lips. My personal favourite is Blistex MedPlus which conditions your lips with a combination of Jojoba oil, cocoa butter and menthol. Allow the lip balm to absorb before going to step 3 or 4.

3-Lip liner If you intend to use a lip liner, then now is the time to apply it. If you prefer a more natural look then skip this.

4-Apply the lip stain I like quite a strong look and so apply a couple of layers. After this I apply another touch of Blistex MedPlus. A good quality lip balm will help to keep your lips mosturised and counteract the drying effect of the lip stain.

5-Lip gloss. I stop after stage 4 but if you like a shiny finish then you can apply a coat of lip gloss.

It is worth bearing in mind that the colour of the lip stain once applied, will not be the same as the colour of the product in its container.

I am currently using the MUA kiss proof lip stains and I have to say that unlike the other more expensive lip stains on the market, they don’t have a drying effect. For me this is a big bonus because previously I had tried and given up on lip stains simply because I didn’t like the fact that they made my lips dry. At £3.00 or £1.50 if you are in time for the half price sale, I advise you to give the MUA kiss proof lip stains a go. I have both the Kissalicious and Fruitilcious colours. Having tried only the Kissalicious, as with lip stains, the colour is not the pink that you would expect but instead a much darker pink colour which is also perfect as a base to my lipstick or lip-gloss. As an example to the staying power of the MUA lip-stains, I applied mine at 8.30 this morning and after a sandwich lunch at 12.30 it was still going strong. If you are new to MUA then why not check out their bestsellers and latest range of affordable make up products.

I would love to hear from you....

